Is nothing really difficult?

Leave a comment

August 27, 2012 by hattersleysmith

ImageA sawn off flyer for the EdFringe show… (superb, novel & memorable idea! Though it lacked the date, time, place…)

The truth is if nothing was really difficult, I’d get frustrated and bored.  It’s the things that are really difficult that push me, challenge me… why bother otherwise?  In fact, I find myself increasingly looking for increasingly difficult barriers to push myself through…

Pushing myself through my vertigo by skydiving.

Pushing myself through my spider phobia by visiting the tarantula infested Amazon jungle and Tanzanian savannah.

Pushing myself through an optional (and incredibly difficult) Medieval module.

Pushing myself through a long distance relationship next year.

Pushing myself up to the summit of Kilimanjaro.

Pushing myself through producing two shows at the Edinburgh Fringe.

Pushing myself to train for ToughGuy 2013.

The smaller the challenge, the less the glowing satisfaction of success at the other side.  Nothing beats the zing and excitement of having pushed through difficulties, through challenges, fears and perceived barriers and emerging better, stronger and even more buzzing to tackle the next big challenge…

Yet perhaps we should take the words a bit more literally, because actually, the greatest difficulty for me would be that ‘nothing’ actually IS really difficult.  I hate doing nothing, I hate feeling like I have nothing to drive me, nothing to look forward to or push beyond.  Sometimes, often when lying wide-awake in bed thinking up all kinds of crazy projects, I wish I had the ability to do nothing, to take a few days off, unwind and not think or do anything in particular.  But I don’t.

I can only conclude that nothing really is difficult.

Leave a Reply

The Scrapbook

Hunters…

Media Mummy

TV Producer. Baby Producer. Blog Producer.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

TV Types

The truth about life behind the screens

Dead Pixel Test

Television! Teacher, mother, secret lover!

Dawnieando

Dawn Anderson's Personal Blog

lanasquared

A journey through the world of digital content

the whisking wife

Changing shape, one dish at a time

Sacraparental

the sacred practice of parenting (and some other stuff)

Squared Peg, Squared Hole

A four-sided take on the digital world

Out Of Octane

when running on empty, becomes a reality.

Technology Buzz

exploring all things digital in a no nonsense way

Sean: Squared

A journey into getting Squared Online

[S]quared

For the love of Digital Marketing

JustKeepRunning

kind of fond of challenges

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

hutch PR

The basics of communication

